Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Lee Hewitt Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Robert L. Ridgeway, III Edward R. Tallon, Sr. John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Lewis Carter Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

December 2, 2019

VIA EMAIL Joshua Baker, Director South Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Post Office Box 8206 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 <u>Singled@scdhhs.gov</u> <u>lynchjen@scdhhs.gov</u>

RE: Inmates and Medicaid

Dear Director Baker:

Thank you for your October 29, 2019 letter regarding the House Legislative Oversight Committee's Department of Corrections ad hoc subcommittee's initial questions about inmates and Medicaid. As a follow-up to your responses, please explain pros and cons to a person applying for, and enrolling in, Medicaid, including why an individual may not want to consent to submitting an application for enrollment in Medicaid. This information would be helpful to the Subcommittee's analysis of potential recommendations related to SCDC operations and statutes.

Please respond to the question above by Wednesday, December 18, 2019.

Additionally, the ad hoc subcommittee welcomes any other input or feedback your office would like to provide. Thank you and your team for your service to the people of South Carolina.

Sincerely,

Soluri Tallon 3

Edward R. Tallon Sr. Subcommittee Chair

cc: The Honorable Wm. Weston J. Newton Department of Corrections Ad Hoc Subcommittee Healthcare and Regulatory Subcommittee